Major Setback for Bangladesh as Star Wicketkeeper-Batter Litton Das Ruled Out of Asia Cup 2023

In a significant setback for Bangladesh just before their opening match in the Asia Cup 2023 against reigning champions Sri Lanka, their prominent wicketkeeper-batsman Litton Das has been sidelined from the tournament. Litton Das, a key figure in Bangladesh’s batting lineup, was unable to recover from a viral fever, preventing his participation in the Asia Cup 2023. As a result, he did not accompany the team for their first match against Sri Lanka on August 31 in Pallekele.

To fill this void, the Bangladesh Cricket Board’s National Selection Panel has swiftly announced 30-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Anamul Haque Bijoy as his replacement. Anamul Haque Bijoy is set to join the squad in Sri Lanka, arriving later on Wednesday.

Having featured in 44 ODIs, Anamul Haque Bijoy brings experience to the team with his contribution of 1254 runs, including three centuries. His last ODI appearance dates back to December of the previous year during a home series against India. Minhajul Abedin, Chairman of the National Selection Panel, emphasized the logic behind selecting Anamul Haque Bijoy: “He has been performing well in domestic cricket, and we’ve closely monitored his progress within the Bangladesh Tigers program. He was always in our considerations.”

Aimed at maintaining a like-to-like replacement for Litton Das, Abedin explained, “Due to Litton’s unavailability, we needed a top-order batter who could keep wicket, and Anamul got the nod.”

The absence of Litton Das, who boasts a record of 2213 runs in 72 ODIs for Bangladesh, marks another significant name sidelined in the Asia Cup 2023. He joins former ODI captain Tamim Iqbal, who was also ruled out due to injury. In addition, Sri Lankan star all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga and pacers Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Madushanka, and Lahiru Kumara are also missing due to injuries.

Presently, the Asia Cup 2023 squad for Bangladesh comprises players like Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, and the newly appointed Anamul Haque Bijoy.

Leave a Comment