India’s squad for World Cup 2023 Announced

India’s squad for World Cup 2023 Announced ;In a much-anticipated announcement, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection panel, led by Ajit Agarkar, revealed India’s formidable 15-member preliminary squad for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023. The team management has strategically composed the squad, featuring a balanced mix of four all-rounders, four bowlers, and seven batters, in preparation for the upcoming mega event. Notably, the squad will be under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, with star all-rounder Hardik Pandya serving as the vice-captain.

The squad announcement had been briefly delayed as the BCCI awaited a final fitness update on KL Rahul from the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru. Thankfully, KL Rahul, India’s premier wicketkeeper and a vital asset to the team, has made a full recovery and is raring to go.

Speaking at the press conference, Rohit Sharma stated, “There are always tough decisions to make when selecting a World Cup squad, and while some talented players will miss out, that’s a natural part of the process.”

Unfortunately, the highly anticipated announcement of India’s squad for the IND vs. AUS three-match ODI series, scheduled to be held in India from September 22 to 27, remains pending.

The 2023 edition of the ODI World Cup presents a golden opportunity for the host nation, India, to secure an ICC trophy after an extended drought. India’s last ICC tournament victory dates back to 2013. Rohit Sharma’s India will kick off their ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 campaign with an intense showdown against five-time champions Australia on October 8 at Chennai’s iconic MA Chidambaram Stadium. Subsequently, they will face Afghanistan on October 9, followed by a high-voltage clash against arch-rivals Pakistan at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on October 14.

India’s ODI World Cup 2023 Squad:

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Shubman Gill
  • Virat Kohli
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Ishan Kishan
  • KL Rahul
  • Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain)
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Axar Patel
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Kuldeep Yadav

Stay tuned for more updates as India gears up for the cricketing extravaganza set to captivate fans around the world.

Leave a Comment